EVMotorworld India
Weekly digest

Electric scooter subsidy · India

Electric scooter subsidy in India: up to ₹5,000 from PM E-DRIVE, plus state benefits

The central PM E-DRIVE incentive is still running until 31 March 2028. Here is how much you get, how it is applied, which scooters fit the price cap, and what each state adds. Last checked 5 October 2026.

Central subsidy

PM E-DRIVE: ₹2,500 per kWh, up to ₹5,000

₹2,500 for every kWh of battery, capped at ₹5,000 per scooter and at 15% of the ex-factory price. Valid for scooters registered until 31 March 2028.

The discount is applied by the dealer at the time of purchase using an Aadhaar-linked e-voucher — you do not apply separately.

The incentive runs until 31 March 2028 or until the scheme’s two-wheeler budget is used up, whichever comes first. Several news sites still say it ended in July 2026; it was extended by a gazette notification on 10 August 2026.

Who qualifies

Eligibility in plain terms

  • Registered electric two-wheeler (L1/L2 category) with an advanced lithium-type battery
  • At least 80 km of certified range and a top speed of at least 40 km/h, with regenerative braking
  • Made in India and certified for PM E-DRIVE by the manufacturer
  • Ex-factory price of ₹1.5 lakh or less
  • Warranty of at least 3 years or 20,000 km, including the battery

State by state

What your state adds on top

Battery-operated vehicles are exempt from the fee for issuing or renewing the registration certificate and for assigning a registration number, under MoRTH notification G.S.R. 525(E) of 2 August 2021. Road tax is set separately by each state. Where we could not confirm a state's current rules from a reliable source, it says so — ask your RTO or dealer.

StatePurchase subsidyRoad tax & registrationValid untilSource
Delhi₹10,000 per kWh, up to ₹30,000, in the first year of the 2026 EV policy (lower in later years). For Delhi residents; ex-showroom price up to ₹2.25 lakh; paid to your bank account.100% road tax and registration fee exemption31 Mar 2030 (policy period from 1 Jul 2026)ET Auto: per-kWh rates, Rs 2.25 lakh cap, DBT rules (secondary)
HaryanaNo purchase subsidy for electric scooters found100% motor vehicle tax exemption for EVs (from 21 Aug 2026)Not statedET Auto: Cabinet approval, covers e-2W (secondary)
KarnatakaNo purchase subsidy for private electric scootersElectric two-wheelers stay 100% road-tax exempt (cars now pay 5–10% from April 2026)Not statedMoneycontrol: Act notified 10 Apr 2026, e-2W remain exempt (secondary)
MaharashtraNot confirmed — the 2025 policy announced purchase incentives; check the current amount with your dealer100% motor vehicle tax exemption for EVs2030 (policy period)EVreporter: GR 23 May 2025, 100% MV tax exemption, registration fee waiver (secondary)
OdishaPurchase incentive of up to ₹20,000 — confirm the exact amount on the state transport portal100% road tax exemption31 Dec 2026 (extended)Oneindia: extension to 31 Dec 2026, subsidy amounts (secondary)
Tamil NaduNo purchase subsidy for private electric scooters100% road tax exemption for battery-operated vehicles31 Dec 2027BusinessLine quoting GO of 29 Dec 2025 (secondary)
TelanganaNo purchase subsidy100% road tax and registration fee exemption31 Dec 2026 (extension under consideration)The Hindu: 100% road tax and registration fee exemption to 31 Dec 2026 (secondary)
Uttar PradeshEnded — the state purchase subsidy budget has been used up100% road tax and registration fee exemption for EVs bought 14 Oct 2025 – 13 Oct 2027 (conditions may apply)13 Oct 2027The Statesman: notification of 5 Nov 2025, 14 Oct 2025-13 Oct 2027 (secondary)
Andhra PradeshNot confirmedNot confirmed—Check with your RTO
AssamNot confirmedNot confirmed—Check with your RTO
BiharNot confirmedNot confirmed—Check with your RTO
GujaratNot confirmedNot confirmed—Check with your RTO
KeralaNot confirmedNot confirmed—Check with your RTO
Madhya PradeshNot confirmedNot confirmed—Check with your RTO
PunjabNot confirmedNot confirmed—Check with your RTO
RajasthanNot confirmedNot confirmed—Check with your RTO
West BengalNot confirmedNot confirmed—Check with your RTO

Price range check

Scooters priced under the ₹1.5 lakh cap

These scooters on sale today have an ex-showroom price within the PM E-DRIVE price cap. Eligibility also depends on the manufacturer's certification, so confirm with the dealer that the discount applies to the exact variant you book.

On-road price

What gets added to the ex-showroom price

  • Registration fee: waived for electric vehicles across India.
  • Road tax: zero in states with a full exemption (see the table); otherwise a state-set percentage.
  • Insurance: compulsory third-party cover plus optional own-damage cover — get a quote for your scooter.
  • Number plate, accessories and handling charges: vary by dealer; ask for an itemised quote.

Common questions

Electric scooter subsidy: common questions

Is the PM E-DRIVE subsidy for electric scooters still available in 2026?
Yes. The PM E-DRIVE incentive for electric two-wheelers was extended to 31 March 2028 by a gazette notification on 10 August 2026, or until the scheme's two-wheeler budget runs out. Some sites still say it ended in July 2026 — that information is out of date.
How much subsidy do I get on an electric scooter in India?
Under PM E-DRIVE: ₹2,500 per kWh of battery, capped at ₹5,000 per scooter and never more than 15% of the ex-factory price. Most scooters with a 2 kWh battery or larger get the full ₹5,000. Some states add their own incentive — Delhi currently gives up to ₹30,000 — and many waive road tax.
How do I claim the electric scooter subsidy?
The discount is applied by the dealer at the time of purchase using an Aadhaar-linked e-voucher — you do not apply separately. State subsidies work differently: Delhi's is paid to your bank account after purchase, so ask your dealer which documents to keep.
Do I pay road tax and registration on an electric scooter?
Registration fees are waived nationally for battery-operated vehicles. Road tax depends on the state: Delhi, Haryana, Karnataka, Maharashtra, Odisha, Tamil Nadu, Telangana and Uttar Pradesh currently exempt electric scooters fully; other states vary, so check with your RTO.
Which electric scooters qualify for PM E-DRIVE?
Scooters with an ex-factory price of ₹1.5 lakh or less that meet the scheme's range, speed, battery and made-in-India rules, and that the manufacturer has certified. The dealer applies it automatically to eligible models — ask before you book.